Pound Cake Apologies

I know I have been neglecting my blog, and I feel really terrible about that. So to make up for it I will be sharing recipes :D. I have several recipes I’ve already converted to share with my British friends, so all recipes will be in weight measurements and in American cup measurements to make it easier for everyone to follow.  I will start with a family favorite, meaning a favorite of my wonderful husband.  Actually all the recipes I post will probably fall into that category, favorites of my wonderful husband.

Liz’ Pound Cake

Ingredients:
206g / 1 US cup margarine
700g / 3 US cups sugar
4 eggs
580g / 3 US cups flour
1/4 tsp bicarbonate of soda / baking soda
227ml / 1 US cup milk
2tsp vanilla

Steps:
Cream together the butter and sugar. Add eggs 1 at a time, mixing after each. Combine the dry ingredients, alternate mixing into the creamed mix with the milk. Stir in the vanilla. The batter will be very thick.

Put into baking dish – a bundt pan, 2 loaf pans, or a 9×13 (32.5cm x 23cm) cake pan should do. Bake at 350F, 190C (170C for fan ovens) until a toothpick comes out clean (should take no less than 20 minutes and up to 70 minutes, depending). The top will get very crusty and brown before the center is done.

Remove from pan, let cool, and try not to eat it all at once.

This recipe can be halved (fitting a single loaf pan or 9×9 (23cm square) cake pan) with nice results.

Hope you enjoy this tasty cake 😀

2 thoughts on “Pound Cake Apologies

  1. This is an amazing recipe. If you are even remotely inclined to bake, you should try this! And it’s not just my biased opinion here… my co-workers all agree. I’ve been told that this should be the official bribe currency if I ever want work favours.

Leave a Reply

